Search Results

Using Fault Handlers

Fault handlers are used to catch faults or exceptions and create fault-handling procedures to deal with potential errors.

Fault handlers are defined at the scope level allowing you to catch faults or exceptions thrown by activities within a scope. There are two types of fault handlers: Catch Specific Fault and Catch All Faults.

Fault handlers can be defined at the process level, or at a scope level within a process. The diagram below shows two fault handlers - one defined at the process level and the other defined at an inner scope level.
Fault Handler Attached to an Inner Scope


  1. Select the activities inside the process where the exception is expected to occur and select Create Scope > Scope from the right-click menu.
  2. Move the cursor right underneath the scope's lower border to view the icons to create fault handlers.
  3. Click on one the following:
    • Create Catch to create a fault handler for a specific exception.
    • Create Catch All to create a fault handler to catch all exceptions.
    A new fault handler is added under the scope.
  4. Add activities and configure the fault handling procedure inside the fault handler area. For example, add a Log activity inside the fault handler area to record messages from the exception.